Zanzibar where.... - Reisverslag uit Stone Town, Tanzania van Marlien Jonkers - WaarBenJij.nu Zanzibar where.... - Reisverslag uit Stone Town, Tanzania van Marlien Jonkers - WaarBenJij.nu

Zanzibar where....

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marlien

22 Februari 2017 | Tanzania, Stone Town

Celine Dion is still very popular, even by youth (taxi drivers) on repeat…
I showered with cold water for 6 months, and I love it!
Before you turn a corner in your car you honk your horn
Greetings are most important, and time is reserved for this
Everybody washes their hands before dinner, even at the streetfood places are always possibilities to wash your hands.
I go to work on flipflops, everyday
Shopping for groceries means going to at least 5 different shops to get everything you need
Sweating is a normal thing
people who live in your neighbourhood ask you where you've been when they didn't saw you for 3 days (i was in Dar es salaam, how sweet!)
I had some amazing BBQ's
Sharing is the norm
People surprise me with their kindness everyday again
Making plans is to be avoided because everything will change at the last moment
As an Mzungu you’re sometimes unfairly being placed on a pedestal
I have seen the most beautiful beaches and sunsets in my life
The fruits taste amazing
The great bongo fava songs are being played everywhere
I met a lot of amazing people
New friendship is formed
People have time for you
The birthday cake is a very important part of your birthday
I enjoyed a lot of talks about politics
Everybody a owns a nokia
The mosque wakes me up every day around 5
I’ve encountered how important power is
A fan is a must have
You see a cat in every street
After a couple of months you see acquaintances even at the other side of the island
I’ve been out for dinner almost every night
Waiting and patience have taken on a new meaning
There are people from all over the world
I’ve learned a lot about myself and what I need to function properly
A cold beer is appreciated even more
The gap between rich and poor is very big
Kids are very creative in absence of a real football
Repeat a song 5 times at a time is very normal (and they will still enjoy it the 6th time)
I’ve enjoyed it every day
Everything is possible

I feel at home.

  • 22 Februari 2017 - 17:17

    Dj:

    Zelf gemerkt hoe dat bij jouw past. Een prachtige omgeving, veel afwisseling en pole pole.

  • 22 Februari 2017 - 17:48

    Anneke:

    Geniet ervan lieverd! Kus mam

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marlien

Ik vertrek 20 september voor 6 maand naar Tanzania om daar vrijwilligerswerk te gaan doen voor VSO (https://www.vso.nl/).

Actief sinds 10 Nov. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 4149
Totaal aantal bezoekers 28961

Voorgaande reizen:

20 September 2016 - 25 Maart 2017

6 maand vrijwilligerswerk in Tanzania

17 November 2011 - 02 December 2011

Een verre reis met Sawadee

Landen bezocht: